On Betrayal, Shakespeare, & Spoons

I had had enough.  My trust was destroyed.  Public humiliation and pain had become as common as a miserable cold.  The time had come for action; execution was swift and without prejudice.

...one from Williams Sonoma ('cause that's all I could afford there) and another from TJMaxx. Go me.

The Thomas’ had come over for dinner and, as I was proudly (“pride goeth before the burnt fingers…”) pulling two of the most gorgeous roasted chickens from the oven, my flesh singed and I yelped in proper bad-puppy fashion.  My trusty old mitts had given up their ghosts…at the most inconvenient time: when I had a hand-full of 450 degree pan.  Under a cold tap, my fingers did protest, my reddened skin shouting testimony against the failed and impotent heat-resistance that was nowhere to be found.

Somewhere across the pond, Shakespeare and Poe bisected their skeletal necks with worm-ravaged fingers, signaling the universal recommendation of doom.  “Death! Death to the lazy oven mitts!”, they cried from their graves.

Really.  You should’ve heard them.  It was kind of creepy.

…anyway!…

I trashed my old oven mitts and the new ones were necessary.

This other stuff…

…well, I just wanted it.

a new spoon. For six bucks, its possibilities are shiver-inducing. 😀
"Food and Friends" by Simone Beck. Yes...THAT Simone Beck. 🙂
"Julia's Kitchen Wisdom"
"The Cook and the Gardner"
2 thoughts on “On Betrayal, Shakespeare, & Spoons

  1. Ok Yert that was too funny! It almost made me pee in a public place…I hope Starbucks will let me back in someday…

  2. I’m sure Starbucks will let you back in. You are, as am I, a Most Valued Customer who Gives Them Lots of Money and otherwise Supports Their Over-Priced and Under-Caffeinated Arsses.

    …you’ll be fine.

    However, Toy will never let you live down your urinary incontinence. …trust me…

    😉

    Glad you enjoyed the post. 🙂 Now go make everyone you know read it…at gun point, if necessary. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

