Grandma’s Corn Bread

About fifteen years ago, my Grandma Ann (my Dad’s mom) gave me a book of family recipes.  There’s Great Grandma Wilson’s coconut macaroons and Aunt Francine’s Hamballs.  (yes, hamballs.  I see you.)  Waffle Batter, Surprise Meringues, and “Fluffy White Frosting” are some of the more worn out pages.

The following is Grandma Ann’s “Crusty Cornbread” recipe.  If you like spicy, add chopped jalepenos.  If you like sweet, add more sugar or a can of creamed corn. (ugh…I can’t believe I actually typed the words creamed corn…The Lunch Lady Police will get me for sure…)  Also, cheddar cheese (tossed with a bit of flour to prevent clumping) or bacon (cooked and crumbled) is a bit of alright, too.

I added corn. See the corn? Yeah...it was tasty.

Grandma Ann’s Crusty Cornbread

preheat oven to 425F.  Butter/flour a 9×9 or similar sized pan.

1/2c each flour and corn meal; 2 1/2 tsp baking powder; 2 Tbsp sugar; pinch of salt.  Combine these.

1 egg; 2Tbs oil (I substituted applesauce.  Don’t tell Grandma.  …Naw, go ahead, she won’t care.); 3/4c milk.  Whisk these.

Stir the two mixtures together.  If you’re going to add anything else, do it now.

…you know…before you put it in the oven…

Put it in the oven.  Leave it alone for 12 minutes, check on it, leave it for three or four more if you need to.  It should do the normal cake thing: pull away from the sides of the pan, a knife inserted in the center should come out clean…You’re big.  You can figure it out.

Let this cool before you dig in.  If you like it, let me know.  🙂

If you don’t, don’t tell me or my Grandma.

I just noticed that Maggie is the same color as corn bread. So here she is. But please don't add bacon to my dog.
One thought on “Grandma’s Corn Bread

Leave a Reply

