Thursday…the day before Friday

It’s officially February. And Thursday.

Just thought I’d clarify that in case you’re new here. To Earth, I mean.

Anyway, beginning with dinner tonight, I’ll be cooking a lot of recipes from Amanda Hesser’s “The Cook and the Gardner”. The recipes and stories are organized by months and seasons, as that is how one cooks food from a garden: as it is in season and available. Not everything I cook will be from this (wonderful! Cozy!) tome, but I will at least try to take inspiration from it.

Amanda writes of her time in France as the chef/cook of a (seemingly) wealthy estate where she learns to more fully appreciate The Garden from it’s elderly and grumpy care taker, m. Milbert. This book is so much more than just a cook book; the anecdotes and commentary are simply priceless for those if us who encounter food.

Yep. Pretty sure that would be all of us.

Tonight I’ll make pork chops with a glaze made from that orange marmalade I made a few days ago. It didn’t set properly (you were right, Minda, this stuff is not for the faint-hearted) but I decided to give it a second life as a base for other stuff. Stuff that requires a great deal of “orangeness”. So-orange glazed pork chops with Rosemary and bay, creamed peas, and herbed fried potatoes with probably way too much butter and pepper (because that’s how I like ’em).

I’ll let you all know how that goes tomorrow, along with the recipe and photos.

In the mean time, take a gander at Amanda’s book. …there’s a killer recipe for bread and one for a chocolate and Rosemary souffle. Carbs and chocolate: my kind of book.

(I’m posting this from my iPhone, so I apologize for the lack of links-ha! Onomatopoeia is a hoot, I say!)

I added the links, but left the onomatopoeia simply because I’m so impressed with myself that I knew how to spell it. Go me!

Leave a Reply

