Moscato & Vanilla Bean Jelly

Moscato is my favorite wine.  It’s sweet and fruity; I actually got to buy the gem of a grape when we lived in San Antonio.  I would buy pounds and pounds of them, getting my “fix” without the added sugars or alcohol.  The local winery, Duplin, makes a wonderful Muscadine wine which is tasty, too, and pretty similar to the Moscato I adore so much.  What follows is a recipe that would be fantastic to serve with “adult” peanut butter and jelly hors d’oeuvres or warm brie and crackers.  Being jelly, it’s fine at room temp, but like the Mother Wine itself, it is best served chilled.  Enjoy!

Moscato & Vanilla Bean Jelly

(makes 9 half-pint jars)

The Grub You’ll Need:

7c Moscato wine

7c sugar

3c water

1 vanilla bean, halved

2 pkgs liquid pectin

the juice of one large lemon

What You’ll Do:

In a large, non-reactive pot, pour in the wine, the water, and the sugar.  Stir well to dissolve the sugar.  Scrape the vanilla seeds from the pod and drop them into the liquid.  Put the pod halves in there, too.  Reduce this mixture by at least 1/3 over medium-high heat, stirring often.

Begin to process your jars and lids.

Bring the wine mixture to a rolling boil, then add the lemon juice and pectin, stirring to combine well.  When the temperature reaches 230-240F, test a small amount on a chilled plate.  If it sets after a few minutes, turn the heat off and skim the surface.  If it does not set to jell, continue cooking and test every five-ten minutes.  Continue to scrape any scum or foam off the top.  Remove the vanilla seed pods.

Fill your sterilized jars, leaving 3/4-1 inch of head room.  Secure lids and rings and process in a rolling boil for no less than 15 minutes.  After processing, let the jars rest on the counter top for at least 24 hours before moving them.  Don’t open your jar of golden goodness for at least 48 hours.

jelled. :) I'm so proud...

**I don’t know the alcohol content of the jelly after cooking, so I’d imagine everybody who should stay away from wine, should stay away from this jelly, too.  …no snacking and driving…**

Moscato & Vanilla Bean Jelly on Punk Domestics
18 thoughts on “Moscato & Vanilla Bean Jelly

  1. Oh YEAH baby! This recipe sings out to me across the miles and demands that I make some of this to send to my sister 4000km away from me because she would do tricks for this jam (jelly). Cheers for making an Aussie womans sister debase herself for sweetness ;)

      • Divine might be too mild a word to be honest…we might end up eating the first batch with a spoon before we put the lids onto the jars (or sadly…we might end up drinking it hot before it even makes it to the jars… ;) ). I just discovered “Punk Domestics” and am LOVING the sites that I am finding through it :) Cheers again for this fantastic recipe

      • Let me know how you like it; I get requests for the stuff every year. Also, Punk Domestics is a jewel, I agree! You could very well become everyone’s favorite jelly-making friend! Cheers and happy jelly-ing!

  2. Cheers for following our humble little blog and here’s looking forwards to more amazing posts like this one. I am going to have to prize my sisters hands from the bottle of moscato but I think I might point out that if she buys it by the crate… (a win/win situation for her prediliction for booze and my desire to make this amazing jelly ;) ).

  3. *drool*. About to attempt the recipe for myself! About how much lemon juice do you think comes from one good sized lemon? Half cup, or more? we get randomly huge and then scrawny lemon sizes around here. I am new to canning, and am nervous… Is the juice so that it is shelf stable or just to help the pectin set up? I have always been a freezer jam girl, so this is new territory!

    • The juice is for shelf stability. The wine alone will set the pectin nicely. When I made this, I was new, too. It’s very forgiving! (Lemon juice: about 1/3-1/2c is about standard for a large lemon.)!

  4. Thanks so much for the recipe! This is the first wine jelly that actually set up for me. We’re pretty excited to try it!

    • Please let me know how it works for you and what you think of it. If you have any suggestions for improvement, share them, too. I’m always a little nervous passing along recipes. :)

Leave a Reply

