Contest for Red Cross and Me, too

I’ve gone and entered a contest, Gentle Reader. I need your help and it won’t cost you a penny. Here’s the scoop:

Ginger Couturier started this. To win, I need to have the most clicks on my Red Cross widget (you can find it to the right).

Click on the “help for free here”, watch a commercial (called “attending an event”) and that’s it. For every click, advertisers will donate to the Red Cross. The more clicks, the more lives are positively changed.

And my life will be positively changed when I win those cookies from Ginger.

See how that works? Cool, huh?

While in DC a couple of weeks ago, my friend Kim arranged a photo safari for my birthday. On this safari, we finished up at the Red Cross. THE Red Cross. We learned that the building housing this organization used the exact same blue prints as the White House. πŸ™‚

the White House, complete with Secret Service agents, visitors, and the protestor who set up shop in 1981 and hasn't left since.

Go sneak a peak sometime. The American Red Cross provides emergency assistance, both here and around the world, as well as providing invaluable services to our fighting men and women in the Armed Forces. Shelter, comfort, and the human face of concern go a long way to fixing the broken bits of this world. Give ’em a click.

the Red Cross headquarters is in the background...the assignment was the flowers...

There you have it. Help a sister out and click on the widget. It costs you nothing and will make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside when you see the counter go up and up and up. …and then I’ll feel all warm and fuzzy inside when I win the contest.

…because you’ll all help me win, right? πŸ˜‰

Here’s a statue found in front of the Red Cross headquarters:

a gift from Armenia after the Red Cross helped assist them in the aftermath of a devastating earthquake
the mother is holding her child while watching her house burn down after the earthquake

12 thoughts on “Contest for Red Cross and Me, too

    1. Ginger,
      (see Kim T.’s comment below) I have yet to be given any tasks or “events” when clicking on the social vibe widget. I clicked on yours, as well as another blogger who responded to your contest. The ticker went up one on yours, but not hers, and there has never been anything but “new …[something or others] coming soon”.

  1. This is a beautiful post, I love that you were just at the Red Cross and are so passionate about helping others. You really are a great girl with a great big heart.

  2. I clicked it, but it just said that new things were coming soon and your ticker didn’t move up to 19. 😦

  3. Hi Kim and Yerttle~ I posted in the forums and they directed me to support so I emailed but haven’t heard back yet. Hopefully they will fix it soon. From what I can tell wp is great at resolving issues rather quickly. I’ll let you know what they say when I hear back! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

