So, guess what

Last night I signed up for Weight Watchers. Honestly, telling you people is more nerve-wracking than enrolling. I don’t have to tell anyone, of course, but…somehow I think I’ll need a cheering section one of these days.

Rah. Rah. Rah. 😛

Also, if you see me at Starbucks, poke me in the ribs and remind me “no whip”.

Anyway, it’s not that I want to be “skinny”, it’s that I need guidance, a lot of guidance, with food. I like to cook with butter and heavy cream and salt and … I need to know how much is okay and how much is “are you really going to eat that?!”. I tend to over- or under- eat in fits and starts, never finding the right balance.

A few years ago, I went through a bout of anorexia. My hair started to fall out and I was cranky and a terrible wife, mother, person. There are days now when I “forget” to eat…I can’t risk doing that in an effort to be healthy. I recognize that I need help with this.

“hi, my name is yerttle, and I don’t always do right by myself.”

I’d like to thank Dacia for not having me arrested as a stalker, and instead talking me through my jitters. You rock, Dacia! 😀 Also, Toy texted and texted and texted with me last night, so here’s hoping her thumbs aren’t swollen today. Love you, Toy!

Also of note: I am finally, finally, finally after years of writing short stories going to send one in for submission to a publisher. (Minda: it’s the one you read at FSH, only I cleaned it up and took out the annoying 1st person accent.) it may not go anywhere, but The Hubby has been after me for 12 years to send something in. …here goes! 🙂

I guess that’s it for today. I suppose that’s enough, right? 🙂 Pray for healing in Joplin and everywhere, cherish your loved ones and have a happy Saturday, dear reader.

20110528-123435.jpg

…I’ve never been good at math. I wonder how many points this is…

13 thoughts on “So, guess what

  1. Congratulations and good luck with your weight loss/food guidance goals. I signed up after having my second child (needed help getting rid of the 60lbs I’d gained while pregnant). I sat out in the parking lot and sobbed before going in to sign up… I think more from the frustration of feeling like my body was out of my control. It’s amazing how stressful not feeling in control of food, your body and how it affects you can be.

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I haven’t been to a meeting yet, but I’ve been following all the prompts in the eTools. I think I’ll really like seeing the numbers.
      Cheers!

  2. Yert I know you can do it! But as your friend I think you need to see someone about your whip cream addiction. You know I’m here for you when you need to vent about chocolate and how it vexes you. Love you babe!

  3. Love it! I am so proud of you for putting yourself out there and being so honest. It takes alot to acknowledge our faults/bad behaviors especially on such a public forum. Not to make it sound like you are an awful person; you just want to be healthier and need some guidance. Which is pretty normal. Its just that you have the balls to ask for what most people are too scared to even think. Good for you!

  4. Yerttle! This is fantastic! You are going to learn so much and I have no doubt that you will thrive! Weight Watchers is a wonderful tool that will transform your behaviors and mind 🙂 I’m sorry to hear about your anorexia, that is a very serious issue, my sister had it when she was a young girl and was hospitalized for quite a while, I am so glad you overcame it. You are a very strong woman and very successful, it’s evident in your writing! Speaking of writing I am so proud of you for submitting your short story! It brings me great joy to hear this! Your whole post is joyous! Great luck to you, I know you are going to be successful in everything! Yay! Congratulations!

    1. Thank you! 🙂 I’m excited…and my husband is being super-supportive, which makes me extra happy. 🙂

      Keep your fingers and toes crossed about the story. If it’s not picked up for publication, I’m thinking about self-ePublishing a bunch that I’ve written through the years…blood and guts and monsters and general cheeriness. 😉

  5. Congrats on both fronts! (The WW and the writing submission)!! I know a lot of folks who swear by WW, and I second what’s already been said about learning a lot about nutrition. As G.I. Joe was wont to say, “…knowing is half the battle.” 🙂

    Also, I know the kind of lady cojones it takes to submit a piece of writing for publication, and the dread that accompanies it…although my writing is not so creative, so there’s a little less “me” invested in it. It takes a lot more courage to put the “me” writing out there, but judging from your blog, I would be surprised if your stories weren’t super-duper-publish-ooper material! 🙂 (Ok, “ooper” is not “able”, but what? it rhymes with super…).

    1. Oh, my dear Celeste, when you say “ooper” like that, I feel wings on my feet. …or…anyway, I appreciate the resoundingly positive support. 🙂

      “lady cajones”. I’m totally going to plagiarize that. Be warned. (I’ll buy you a drink with the gazillions we’re sure to rake in.) 🙂 cheers, woman! You make me grin. 🙂

      1. Just make sure when you plagiarize it, you spell it with an “o” (“cojones”)… otherwise you’re saying “lady boxes”…which…um… sounds a little different than the intent. 😉

        Seriously, though, to the extent I can be “proud” of you without being offensive, having only known you briefly, I am proud! If that extent is zero, and any mention of me taking pride in your accomplishments seems offensive and patronizing, then substitute some equally positive, but less offensive term. 🙂

        When are you going to bring your kids over to play in our lake??

Leave a Reply

