The Wedding…Photographed

My cousin Jessica got married last week and I got to be the photographer.  Let it be known, however, that I was not chosen because my photographs are particularly fabulous, but because, drum roll please…I’m family and I did it for free.  Free trumps awesome most of the time.  My other cousin, Karen, actually owns a photography studio but because her photographs are actually good, she was already booked for the weekend.  So…free trumps gainfully employed, too.  Laura, one of my superfantasticohmygoodnessI’msoluckytohaveherinmylife sister-in-laws agreed to come and help me take pictures.

This is the part of the story in which I say LAURA ROCKS.

Here are some of my favorite pictures from the day. Laura uses a Sony Alpha (I dunno the number) and I used two different Olympus bodies, an E-620 with a 50mm lens and an E-5 with a kit 14-42mm lens. For fill light, I used an external flash equipped with a mini light box for more even distribution of the light. I uploaded everything to Aperture 3 and edited there. I don’t use Photoshop. Outdoor photography began around 4:30 in the afternoon, with the ceremony beginning at 7p.  Lighting was the hardest part of everything for me…to say the least.

These are my favorites:

Laura, working her mmmmojo, baby, yeah!

My Uncle David...

So there ya have it.  It was a beautiful wedding and I really was honored to take the pictures.  Laura was so kind to come and take pictures with me and generally save the day.  The cake was delicious (I ate three pieces…for my WW homies, that equals 28 pps.  it was totally worth it), the bride was glowing, and I wish them love, luck, and happiness.   Congratulations, Stan and Jessica!

Leave a Reply

