Olympus E-5 goes to Washington DC



a shot of color, originally uploaded by gopre_gome.

This was taken at the National Harbor just outside of Washington, DC. My friend Kim played tour guide (again!) and drove me around. This particular photo was taken with the “dramatic tone” art filter with my Olympus E-5 using a 50mm 2:1 lens. I was concerned about having a fixed mm lens all day, but it turned out to be a bit of alright. As you can see, the filter really made the colors of the trees pop, while giving a gritty feeling to the rest of the scene. Having the macro lens allowed me to stop all the way down to f2 when I wanted to, and came in handy for a few floral shots.

The E-5 is a tank of a camera. That body paired with the not-so-light 50mm lens really weighed down my neck. I won’t lie: there was once or twice when I wished for a PEN. However, knowing that the camera is such a tank and really can take a beating (as well as a sprinkle or two of water) helped me feel secure in man-handling the thing. Also, the improved grip compared to my E-620 was a boon when my fingers started to freeze up from the stiff November breezes.

The uber-clear LCD screen was helpful more than once, too. I was able to zoom in and out and get an accurate look at the colors. This was nice, as I didn’t have to wait to see the pics in my computer to see what adjustments I needed to make.

I’m sure there are plenty of cameras out there that are lighter in weight that can do just as much as my Olympus E-5…but I like my camera. We get along and we understand each other.

Plus, I like knowing that I can beat someone to death with it if the situation calls for it. 😉

One thought on “Olympus E-5 goes to Washington DC

  1. Nice post!

    The E-1 was my first DSLR and I have very fond memories of it. It fell* in a creek (w/14-54mm & FL50 flash attached) and everything survived with zero problems. Oly salespeople used to demo the E-1 by holding down the shutter button in continuous mode and then pouring a bucket of water on the camera.

    I have no doubts the E-5 is as tough or tougher. Glad you are getting such good use out of it!

    *I had it on a monopod propped against a rock… not a good idea in hindsight 😉

Leave a Reply

