Update on Christmas Goals

Well, I’ve already failed at posting the Advent Readings every day, so here are a few for the upcoming days and a review of what’s already passed:

1) Sunday

GEN 1:24-28 (globe)

2) Monday

GEN 3:1-24 (snake and apples)

3)Tuesday (yesterday)

GEN 6:11-22, 8:6-12, 9:11-17 (rainbow)

4)Wednesday (today)

GEN 12:1-7, 13:2-18, 18:1 (camel)

5) Thursday (tomorrow)

GEN 18:1-15; 21:1-7 (baby)

6) Friday

GEN 22:1-14 (ram)

7) Saturday

GEN 27:41-28:22 (ladder)

As to the other goals, I’m doing much better. 🙂

Races:

1) I’ve signed up for a 5k in December. This meets the goal I set to sign up for a Christmastime 5k. Ryan’s Reindeer Run benefits the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society; also, we’ll get antlers. Amazeballz!

2) Nike+ Women’s Half-Marathon in January, 2012 and the Bataan Memorial Death March in March, 2012. These two races fulfill the goal I set to sign up for two big races for next year, however, the other two races I’d really like to do are the Flying Pirate Half-Marathon in April and (of course..as always..no surprise here) the Marine Corps Marathon in October.

a) the Nike+ Women’s Half Marathon Benefits the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

b) for the Bataan Memorial Death March (BMDM), I’ve signed up for the the 26.2 mile Heavy Division. What this means: I will carry a backpack that weighs no less than 35#. That 35# will consist of kids’ lunch boxes filled with dried food stuffs (beans, rice, etc.); these lunch boxes will be given to the hungry children of New Mexico.

c) if you’d like to support these causes, that would be great. Here’s a link to the
LLS. If you’d like to sponsor a kid’s lunch box, please donate $5 to the Fisher House. eMail me your receipt (yerttography@gmail.com) and I’ll personally match your donation by purchasing the lunch box and filling it with the food. …also, by carrying it on my back for 26.2 miles of mountainous, sandy terrain and having it weighed at the finish line.

d) what this means: three charities will be helped out here; LLS, Fisher House, and the local food pantry at White Sands Missile Range, NM. It also means that you get to feel like awesome-sauce for making a difference in the world. 🙂

e) blogging buddies: if you link to this page and help me spread the word about my charity deal-ios, I’ll link back to you, too. 🙂 Fair’s Fair! You scratch my back, I’ll pick your nose! Tit for t… you get the idea.

Yoga

I’ve done yoga once so far this week, attended zumba yesterday, and am going for a run tonight. I’ll do yoga before bed to stretch, am going to zumba again tomorrow, and will do yoga tomorrow night before bed. This will meet my goal of doing yoga three times for this week.

Weight

I haven’t weighed in yet for this week. Wish me luck. 🙂

If you’re in the mood to win something, pop on over to my blogging buddy Dacia‘s site and enter to win her contest. It’s a super easy entry and you get to pick your prize!

Squidward & Patrick say 'hello'

I hope everyone is having a wonderful first week of Advent! Cheers!

5 thoughts on “Update on Christmas Goals

    1. I guess I’m confused. …the links are highlighted in the text of the blog and I don’t need anything referenced back to me for the donations.

      …uh…what am I missing? Help a sister out. 🙂

  1. Likely I’M the one missing something, but “Here’s a link to the LLS. If you’d like to sponsor a kid’s lunch box, please donate $5 to the Fisher House.” What’s LLS and should I just google “Fisher House”?

Leave a Reply

