In which I make quiche at 2am and am heartily sorry

It’s 2am. I just built a biscuit dam around a springform pan filled with 6 eggs, 4 cups of heavy cow juice, and $10 worth of cheese.

Thomas Keller’s “Quiche Loraine”.

When the instructions tell you to look out for holes in the crust after blind baking, please do that. When the instructions tell you to use a 1″ deep cookie sheet, do that, too. Do not

1) start cooking at midnight.

2) assume that biscuit dough has any architectural stability.

3) attempt to cook anything of value after finishing off Aunt Francine’s rum cake. …for real…{hiccup}

After carefully slicing onions, browning thick-sliced bacon, grating unpronounceable cheese, preparing & resting dough 5 hours in advance, and whirring organic eggs in a $400 food processor, it’s come down to this: a biscuit dam at 2am.

My apologies, Thomas Keller. …my apologies.

20111228-020428.jpg

2 thoughts on “In which I make quiche at 2am and am heartily sorry

    1. That’s very kind of you to say, but I don’t feel particularly “marvelous” about having to clean my oven this morning. 😉 It is rather a miracle, however, that I didn’t burn the house down.

      I wish you the happiest of New Year’s! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

