Redemption through Scones

Shortly after 1am, I finished baking a batch of cranberry-orange scones. This baking endeavor was much more successful than The Great Quiche Debacle at 2am, night before last. It probably went so well because the recipe/process is easy, even in the middle of the night:

Ina Garten’s Cranberry Orange Scones
from her book “Barefoot Contessa: Back to Basics”

1) heat oven to 400F.

2) combine 3 sticks of cold, cubed butter with 4c flour, 2Tbsp baking powder, 1tsp salt. Mix on medium speed until butter crumbles to the size of peas.

3) after you’ve mixed all that thoroughly, add 4 cold and beaten eggs, 1c cold heavy cream and 2Tbsp orange zest.

4) fold in 1-2c dried cranberries which have been tossed in 1/2c flour.

5) place dough on a well floured surface and knead it for about a minute. Roll it out to about an inch thick, cut rounds or squares or whatever, and bake each batch for maybe 10-12 minutes.

6) after they’ve all cooled, brush on a glaze of 1/2c orange juice mixed with 2 Tbsp powdered sugar. Enjoy with coffee. Or whiskey, if you’ve had a rough day…

The really sad part of this is that it’s an Ina Garten recipe. What this means is that I am not qualified to execute a Thomas Keller recipe during the 3rd Watch, but a Barefoot Contessa recipe is etched in my brain. I’d really hoped better for myself. I mean…Ina has a lovely barn and all, but Mr. Keller has The French Laundry! Ah, well…

Thank you, Ina, for at least allowing your recipe for scones to push away the scent of tortured quiche Lorraine. My kitchen (and probably the household), is grateful.

20111230-015316.jpg

Random (not really, if you think about it) thought: I will be seriously surprised at tomorrow’s weigh-in if I’ve gained less than 4 pounds. My activity level is down (only 1 run and one resistance/stretching session) and I’ve had rum, cake, rum cake, chocolate, biscuits, and sausage. …perhaps I should be grateful the quiche was sacked…

20111230-015851.jpg

(thanks for the pic, Dacia!)

5 thoughts on “Redemption through Scones

  1. Two years ago for Christmas I got Keller’s Ad Hoc at Home. For at home cooking of comfort food his recipes were still challenging. Sometimes I think Keller’s books are only meant for other chefs. Lol! Scones look fabulous. Glad you enjoyed your holidays!

    1. I kinda have to agree with you, Dacia. I have all three of his cookbooks, and while I’ve successfully used a few of the recipes, I find that I learn more about technique than anything from him. I’m always having to look something up, or ask my chef neighbor about stuff. I have to say, though, that Thomas Keller’s “buchons” recipe (brownies) are absolutely to.die.for. 🙂

      Happy New Year!

  2. I don’t really know that it would be classified as “energy”…I think maybe just “the only free minute I have” is a better description. 😉

    Thanks for reading, Roxanne! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

