I Still Like Running

20121109-195125.jpg

I went for a leisurely little run tonight, the first one since MCM. I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about lacing up my trainers after that race… puking, headache, IV… I needed to see, though, if my heart was still in my sport. Happily, I discovered that I still like to run for the sake of running. The simple act of putting one foot in front of the other over an over again, really fast: fun! I enjoyed the chilly air, the gentle padding of my shoes on the road; it was a relief to run because I wanted to and not because I’m training for a race.

(race: a word which here means I paid $85 to join 30,000 of my closest friends for a possibly stressful, injury-inducing event, at the conclusion of which we may or may not receive a t-shirt and a necklace we can’t wear in public.)

My friend Jennifer posted something on FaceBook about ZombiesRun, an app that is interactive, more or less. I ran with this app tonight and it is super amazingly awesome fun!

It is not, however, super amazingly awesomely accurate, but what it lacks in accuracy, it makes up for in Good Time Having.

20121109-200146.jpg

20121109-200157.jpg

There are characters who talk to you, guiding you along on “missions” in between your music. You’re supposed to collect supplies and dodge obstacles and hordes of flesh-eating zombies.

I ran at night. And I had zombies in my ears. …I ran fast.

Anyway, here’s the app in the app store:

20121109-200945.jpg

If you want something different to run with, or you want some extra motivation, or you want to practice for the zombie apocalypse, check it out.

Happy Running! I hope to see you out there, enjoying the trails or pavement or treadmills. Cheers!!

20121109-201519.jpg

One thought on “I Still Like Running

Leave a Reply

