Out of the Frying Pan, Into a CrapTon of Chemicals and Pain

I’ve been watching too much Netflix lately. Specifically, I’ve been watching too many shows about the deplorable state of the American food system and Big Agriculture.

I get it: factory farming is super-bad. Some people believe killing animals in any way is bad. Egg Chickens are miserable, Momma cows are emotionally and physically tortured for their milk, calves and piglets … Well, you get the horrid, bloody, sad idea.

I’ve changed the way my family eats. We only buy local, grass fed beef and local, free range chickens/eggs. Our veggies are local, too. But we’re lucky: my husband has a good paying job and we are smack in the middle of farm country. What are the chances of others who live in Metropolis and/or don’t make ends meet? They’re left with Wal-Mart cardboard veggies which genetically resemble veggies as much as I genetically resemble the Empire State Building.

These movies I’ve been watching really anger me. Not because of the animals or the points of view, but because of the simpering, intentional ignorance of some very basic points:

**Fine. Killing animals may be bad to you. That leaves plants. Where do the plants come from? Who harvests them? How do they get to your table?

**under-paid, sometimes illegal workers gather the veg in just a few pockets of agricultural greatness in our country. That means that somebody else’s kid goes without good food and decent housing so that we can brag about our organic strawberries. That means 100 gallons of air-polluting, vehicle-emitting gasoline had to truck the stuff here.

** have you SEEN the chemicals they put in “vegan” or “vegetarian” packaged food?? Holy crap!! It’s a poop-storm of unpronounceable death. …but I’m supposed to feel GOOD about poisoning my body so that Big Agriculture won’t get my money.

**folks will protest in the streets against war for oil or demand we all drive a Prius, but by-golly they have to have their California wine or their white asparagus, or their Georgia Peaches, or their Florida Oranges… Just exactly how do you think that stuff gets around the country and on to your self-righteous table?

**Rules and laws come out of Congress, and Congress is elected locally. That means we the people can locally unelect the people who are paid to make laws which only benefit Big Business/Agriculture. We suck when we fail to act on things we want to change.

I like plants. Plants go into my smoothies, my clothes, my shampoo… But I should not assume that just because it’s a plant, it’s harmless to the environment or the process of feeding and clothing me. I have just as much responsibility to know here my cotton pants come from as my steak. Personal responsibility doesn’t stop at the butcher case.

It irks me when folks get on their vegetarian high-horses about meat, but they don’t stop to think about where their veg comes from, how it gets to them, or what the consequences of the process are.

And when somebody wants to smack a burger out of my hand and give me a marshmallow instead because the marshmallow didn’t kill a cow? Nope.

Well, you know what? That marshmallow was made in a pollution-producing factory, packaged in petroleum-refined plastic, and trucked here in a big-ass semi.

I’ll take my cow. You go think about your friggin’ marshmallow and the guy who harvests your organic apples. He doesn’t want your marshmallow, either.

20130109-095057.jpg

8 thoughts on “Out of the Frying Pan, Into a CrapTon of Chemicals and Pain

  1. Travis and I both drive more flue efficient vehicles, a Prius is one of them. 😉 We too by local produce, free roaming chickens’ eggs, grass feed beef… I would like to think we are making a conscious effort towards a healthier life style and trying to be considerate of our world around us. We all could do more or less. Travis and I are on a stricter budget than most, he’s a E-5 in the Army for goodness sake and if we can make these changes with a family of five, then I’m pretty sure others can make it work as well. You made a great point that availability and budget can make these choices difficult, but I believe if there’s a will there’s a way.

    1. Hey, girl! Nice to hear from you! 😀

      Hats off to you and your family for several reasons. Thank you all for your continued service in the Army; awesome that you can make it work and get Good food. Also, I think a Prius is a great car, I just use it as an archetype. 😉

      Say hi to the kids. 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. My parents have always raised cows and chickens, so I go shopping in my parents deep freeze for beef. We get a carton of farm fresh eggs when we visit. I love that Ryan can go help my Dad feed the chickens and cows and help John tend our garden. I love going to the Farmer’s Market in the summer, but it is very expensive. I never really thought about all the vegetables and the cost of raising those, that’s a good point. I have known people to completely freak out about those documentaries on Netflix & filter some parts of their eating habits. 🙂

    1. Some of those movies have a lot of education to offer and can help folks make positive changes in their lives (Forks Over Knives, etc). Preachy dumb-talk makes my head want to explode. “Look, I can have a marshmallow because it’s vegan!” 😛

      I wish everybody had access to good food and good farms like your parents have. Maybe Ryan will grow up and fix the broken, crappy system and we’ll all have pet cows and Pa-Pa’s with tractors. 🙂

      ❤ u!

  3. I agree with your post. I think that there are junk food vegans/vegetarians the same as there are junk food omnivores. The word vegan doesn’t necessarily mean healthy. I think ultimately it boils down to educating yourself about what you are eating and where it comes from. I am a vegan and don’t eat fake meats. I do splurge once in a while on a piece of vegan cake from WF but I don’t considered it health food. Yes, I will make healthier versions of some baked goods at home but I know there are tons of vegan recipes filled with oils and sugar or vegans who cook with fake products high in saturated fats and weird ass chemicals. But I stay away from those. I follow a whole foods plant-based diet. The one movies like FOK and Engine 2 talk about. I eat real, unprocessed foods at least 80% of my diet. But that’s me. I made this choice for health reasons. But now I love the fact that my selfish choice allows me to be more compassionate towards animals and helpful to the environment. The vegans I know are the same way. Actually most I know eat even cleaner than I do but I am not ignorant to that fact that some people eat only those fake meat products and processed junk that is still considered vegan (oreos) but I assume it is becuase they feel more comfortable not having to break into a new routine and try new foods. I don’t think that any diet based around processed shit and fake foods is healthy regardless if you eat meat or not. I tell Paul all the time that I would rather him eat chicken than a frozen pizza. I only advocate that people make the best choices for themselves, learn about what they are putting into their body and not be afraid to try new things.

    1. In a perfect world, everyone would educate themselves about their food and take personal responsibility for what goes into their face. Some of those movies prey on the fact that most choose ignorance in leu of reading a book about basic nutrition and farming.

      Hugs, woman! Thanks for your comment! 🙂

  4. I get what you’re saying about farm workers being some of the more exploited workers in society, but I am pretty sure slaughterhouse workers are not a lot happier. The whole system is fucked. Having a vegan diet is just one choice you can make which hopefully alleviates the suffering of a few innocent animals, who don’t have politicians or any other kind of humans standing up for them very much. As you say, ‘we’ do have some power to change the system of food production, although honestly that power is very limited, as the system is so very entrenched. The animals have no say in anything, and that’s why I don’t want them involved in the system at all, cos it doesn’t seem fair to me. As for processed vegan food, I eat it sometimes, as a treat, because some of it’s hella tasty and honestly I get a bit bored of veg veg veg all the time. And I feel like that’s my choice, like smoking, drinking, being lazy and inactive, like anything I may do that isn’t particularly healthy for me…as long as I’m not harming anyone else, why not?

    1. That’s exactly my point. 🙂 Those movies that would like us all to believe that by simply eliminating animal products, pink fairy dust will rain down on us are wrong. Yes, please skip the slaughter house but don’t but blinders on to the “veg” system, either. It’s all personal choices, and we can all live with our own guilt or heart disease or joy or whatever. It’s the pretending part that irks me the most, I think.

      Thanks for your comment! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

