Big Ears

My coach gave me a biking assignment for today: warm up for 10-15 minutes, then find the bigger gears and ride on a relatively flat course, staying in heart rate zone 3 for 30-40 minutes (lower RPM), then cool down.

Big. Gears.

My whole life, when listening to anything bike-related, I thought folks were saying “big ears”. Imagine my confusion…

“The big ears will really help you on those down-hills.”

“Big ears will get you further with few cranks, but more sweat.”

“Big ears will really build your quads and glutes.”

((sigh))

Alas, constant reader, Big Ears won’t get you any of those things. Not even entry into The Tour de France. Big gears? Well…big gears will get you sweat and traction and sore glutes and sore quads. Big gears are the bicycle’s answer to The Dream Where You Run and Run and Run and You’ve Got Jello Legs. (not The Naked in the Hallway in High School Dream, though…that one’s just awful…)

Today I found that my bike (Trek Lexa…entry level road bike…on sale…hoping for a Sweet Pea someday!) has seriously big gears.

biG.

Gearzzzzeh.

‘bigearz’… enunciation is super important, inn’it?

IMG_6275

2 thoughts on “Big Ears

  1. I am the weirdo that only ever rides on the dinner plate. I was actually going to call my blog that- life from the dinner plate or I dine off the big plate. Something like that but I thought it a bit obscure. Lol! Yep, the big ring is my friend 🙂

    1. Awesome!! Haha! The dinner plate…love it! (also, you are a BEAST for living in the dinner plate…yikes! You must have killer glutes!) hubbahubba!

Leave a Reply

