Back to School

The kids went back to school yesterday and so did I. While the kids went to classrooms with lunch boxes and pencils, I went to the pool with goggles and an assignment from my coach.

20130827-123545.jpg

I have always considered myself a strong swimmer; I don’t freak out in the water (ocean, river, etc) and can pretty much go and/or float as long as I need to. However, mastering the swimming and breathing thing that I see on TV? Nope. Never figured that out.

So yesterday I donned my goggles, swim cap (sexy! not…), and a real swimming swim suit. That means it didn’t have a cute bow or a skirt to cover my thighs. That means I got into the water as quickly as possible.

Learning to do the swim/breath thing is hard for me. I swallowed a lot of water and inhaled even more. Also, 2300m in the water feels like a half marathon on land. And, Constant Reader, I learned that swallowing chlorinated pool water can make a person very, very thirsty for non-chlorinated water.

It took me well over an hour and a half to do the workout. My sunscreen gave out way before then so today, as I set out for an 8 mile run, my skin was shrieking at me. …something about melanoma and hatred…

I learned that I will eventually figure out the breathing/swimming thing. I learned that I can swim farther than I ever thought possible and then follow it up with a running distance I used to consider impossible.

Right now I am learning that swimming causes discomfort in muscles I didn’t even know I had. And I want to eat everything in sight while drinking my weight in chocolate milk.

20130827-130215.jpg

Learning new things is torturous and scary fun!

Leave a Reply

