A Year’s Review in Photos

I don’t really dig those “Christmas Letters” that some people send with their Christmas cards. Heck, this year?… I didn’t even get around to sending cards. (I promise, Dear Friends, someday I’ll make it up to you.) Since its 0500 and I’ve not been to bed yet and New Year’s is only a few days away, I figured I should post something on my blog to “recap” 2013. …’cos…you know…I should.

Our family went snow skiing in the mountains of North Carolina. I'd never been skiing before; I didn't die, so I consider it a success.
Our family went snow skiing in the mountains of North Carolina. I’d never been skiing before; I didn’t die, so I consider it a success.
First ever trail race, a Half-Marathon with my hubby.
First ever trail race, a Half-Marathon with my hubby.
…okay. a LOT of spring rain.
…okay. a LOT of spring rain.
After an 8 hour flight in a C5-Galaxy, the kids were zonked when we finally arrived in Germany.
After an 8 hour flight in a C5-Galaxy, the kids were zonked when we finally arrived in Germany.
IMG_6664
Venice!
a dear Italian lady and her kitchen fire
a dear Italian lady and her kitchen fire
new Italian friends! I didn't understand 90% of what they said, but I love them.
new Italian friends! I didn’t understand 90% of what they said, but I love them.
My son…taking pictures…at the Vatican museum. Joy!!
My son…taking pictures…at the Vatican museum. Joy!!
a really terrible photo of the Pieta inside St. Peter's Basilica. The photo is bad because I was too busy crying to see clearly. THE PIETA. IN REAL LIFE. IN ROME. I said prayers at the tomb of John Paul II, I attended mass, I wept with joy. St. Peter's Basilica…
a really terrible photo of the Pieta inside St. Peter’s Basilica. The photo is bad because I was too busy crying to see clearly. THE PIETA. IN REAL LIFE. IN ROME. I said prayers at the tomb of John Paul II, I attended mass, I wept with joy. St. Peter’s Basilica…
When I remember Bristol, I remember this: cool breezes, soft beds, calm moments after Italy's heated chaos. My daughter was so happy by the water lilies at our hostel.
When I remember Bristol, I remember this: cool breezes, soft beds, calm moments after Italy’s heated chaos. My daughter was so happy by the water lilies at our hostel.
outside a pub in Bristol…nice weirdos are the best kind. :)
outside a pub in Bristol…nice weirdos are the best kind. 🙂
Our family had so much fun finding all the Grommits in Bristol!
Our family had so much fun finding all the Grommits in Bristol!

The Doctor Who Experience in Cardiff was a treat. Seeing the inside of the TARDIS, getting up close to River Song’s relics, hearing the kids debate which of the Doctors was the best… positively priceless memories!
IMG_7144

IMG_7122

IMG_7128

IMG_7130

IMG_7133

King's Cross Station, London!
King’s Cross Station, London!
…because kilts, that's why.
…because kilts, that’s why.

IMG_7247

London… loved it!

IMG_7330

IMG_7399
the view from The Eye.

Visiting the Harry Potter studios in Leavesden was positively magical. I took about a million photos, but these are a couple of my favorites:

IMG_7495

IMG_7552

20131229-061755.jpg
(A Color Run!)

20131229-061948.jpg

I’ve run more miles and travelled more places than I ever have before. I hired a coach and gained a friend. My kids are taller, healthier, happier than they were last year. I love my husband more today than yesterday and we are stronger than ever, looking forward to adventures unknown.

It was a year of carrying around stuff I should never have picked up, then blissfully setting it all back down again. It was a year of being cut to the core by family, of hurting family, of knee-buckling pain. It was a year of learning the power of forgiveness and consequence. Some lessons were really, really hard-learned; I’m sad they needed teaching in the first place, but they will never be forgotten.

2013 was a pretty decent year and I’m glad to have been blessed to live it. If time travel were possible, I don’t think I’d want 2013 back…maybe just stretch out the hugs a little more. I am, without a doubt, eager to put 2013 behind me and embrace the snot out of 2014.

Here’s to an amazing 2014. “…may the earth rise to meet our feet…”

20131231-041118.jpg

One thought on “A Year’s Review in Photos

Leave a Reply

